Excellence in the Field of GIS Award

Nominate a GIS Leader Today!
Now accepting nominations. Please submit by April 15, 2021.
The nomination form is available HERE
(Please use the download button in the upper right when the form loads in the new window.)


To recognize individuals who have a history of service in any area of GIS. The individual should be recognized within our region as a leader in GIS, and they should be cognizant of issues at the local, regional, state and/or federal levels. Service to their GIS community and to their own personal career should have consideration when making a nomination. The individual may be a member of government, industry, or the private sector. 

Entire organizations, such as the Northern Rockies URISA or the Women in GIS, are not eligible.  However, participation in such organizations may be used to validate an individual’s nomination, as well as participation in outstanding GIS project groups.

NRURISA Excellence in GIS Hall of Fame

2007 – Sheldon Bluestein

2009 – Steven Branting

2011 – Nick Nydegger

2013 – Keith Weber

2015 – Dave Williamson

2017 – Donna Phillips

2019 – Anne Kawalec


Please submit your nominations for the 2020-2021 Excellence in the Field of GIS AwardNominations will be accepted through February 15, 2021; who will you nominate? Nomination form available here. (Please use the download button in the upper right when the form loads in the new window.)

Nominees do not have to satisfy every criterion.  Nominees may satisfy only one criterion, and exhibit an outstanding commitment or accomplishment that exceed precedent or expectations.

Nominations will address the individual’s commitment and/or achievements in:

  • Increase community involvement in GIS

  • Develop innovative ideas or programs for GIS

  • Develop or be actively involved in cooperative efforts to put GIS into action

  • Education/Awareness of GIS

  • Coordination, Cooperation, and Partnership to increase GIS activity

  • Funding and Resources for GIS activities

  • Assessments and Adaptive Planning in GIS

  • Research and Technology Development in GIS


A profile will be developed on each individual that is nominated. A ballot will be distributed to all NR URISA board members for their vote along with the profiles of the nominees. Board members will be asked to rank their top three nominees, with the award going to the cumulative top ranked nominee from the group.  


The NR URISA Excellence in GIS Award will be presented at the biennial NR URISA Conference. The recipient will receive an engraved plaque from NR URISA and their name will be added to the NR URISA Excellence in GIS Hall of Fame Roster.